Erik  Højsgaard

Erik Højsgaard


Erik Højsgaard graduated from The Royal Academy of Music in Aarhus in 1978, where he studied composition with Per Nørgård. He continued his studies at The Royal Academy of Music in Copenhagen, where he studied ear training and graduated with a music education degree. Since 1982 he has taught ear training at the Academy in Copenhagen, where he became lecturer in 1988 and Professor in 2002. When Højsgaard was just 20 years old he had his first major success as a composer with the performance of his string quartet Sun prisms

In the years 2003-04 he was composer in residence at Aalborg Symphony Orchestra as well as teacher at The Royal Academy of Music in Aalborg. He has received several prizes including the Carl Nielsen and Anne Marie Carl-Nielsen’s honorary award in 1993, the Danish Arts Foundation’s three-year work grant in 1979 and the Danish Composers’ Society’s grant in 1992.

Højgaard’s work list includes two symphonies, a cello concerto and a piano concerto as well as the opera Don Juan vender tilbage fra krigen (“Don Juan returns from the war”), which was premiered in Vienna in a new revised version in 2006. He composed Fragment for chamber orchestra for the conducting competition Malko in 1995. Furthermore he has composed chamber music (amongst others two string quartets and a string of landscape pictures, including Paysage blême, which was premiered in London by the British ensemble Capricorn) as well as works for solo instruments, including C’est la mer mêlée au soleil for guitar and Épreuve for accordion.

Højsgaard’s works have been performed all over the world and he has been represented at a few international festivals such as ISCM World Music Days, Salzburg Festspiele, Nordic Music Days, NUMUS, Festival Internazionale di Musica Roma, MusikSommerBerlin, Cantiere Internazionale d'Arte Montepulciano, Copenhagen Summer Festival, Aarhus Festuge etc.

Available Works

  1. 4 skitser

    1990 • Erik Højsgaard

    7+ Instruments

    21 minutes perc/arpa/pno/

  2. Épreuve

    1993 • Erik Højsgaard


    9 minutes

    Accordion solo

  3. Don Juan vender hjem fra krigen

    1992 • Erik Højsgaard

    Music Drama and Stage Music

    100 minutes

    5 Sop, 2 Mezzo, Alto, Basbaryton solo +

  4. Koncert for klaver og orkester

    1985 • Erik Højsgaard


    22 minutes

    Piano solo +

  5. Intrada

    1981 • Erik Højsgaard

    2-6 Instruments

    4 minutes

    Cor, 2 trp, trb, tuba

  6. Intermezzi

    1983 • Erik Højsgaard

    2-6 Instruments

    12 minutes

    fl, arpa

  7. Nocturne

    1994 • Erik Højsgaard

    7+ Instruments

    12 minutes

    Clarinet solo +

  8. Fragment

    1995 • Erik Højsgaard


    11 minutes

  9. Solprismer

    1974 • Erik Højsgaard

    2-6 Instruments

    13 minutes

    String Quartet

  10. The Sunflower

    1978 • Erik Højsgaard

    2-6 Instruments

    5 minutes

    String Quartet

  11. Fragmenter

    1979 • Erik Højsgaard

    7+ Instruments

    12 minutes

    Soprano solo + gui, vl

Advanced works search


  1. Work Grants from the Danish Arts Foundation


    Work Grants from the Danish Arts Foundation

  2. Nordstrøm, Lund Bergner and more at SUSÅ festival


    Nordstrøm, Lund Bergner and more at SUSÅ festival

Show More News