Benefit Concert for Japan

On Sunday May 29 Literaturhaus in Copenhagen hosts a prominent benefit concert for the victims of the tsunami in Japan. The theme for the concert is ‘FUJI - the holy mountain of Japan’. The Swiss Ensemble Opera Nova Zürich gives here a special guest appereance for the first time in Denmark. On the programme are music by the Danish-Swiss composer Gunnar Berg and two contemporary Swiss composers.

Mount FUJI has been an inextinguishable inspiration to Japanese artists and poets for thousands of years, and it stands also as a monument behind the music of Gunnar Berg we will hear at this concert: his piano work FELDSPATH from 1943-45 and his early masterpiece for soprano and piano ZEHN JAPANISCHE HOLZSCHNITTE from 1938.

Money collected at the concert will be donated to Danish Red Cross in benefit for the victims of the tsunami in Japan.

Entrance is free, but for practical reasons the arranger requests registration at

FUJI - the holy mountain of Japan
Benefit concert with Ensemble Opera Nova Zürich
Sunday May 29 at 4 PM
Literaturhaus, Møllegade 7
2200 Copenhagen N