Nordic Music Days 2022

Nordic Music Days 2022 take place on 11-15 October in Reykjavík. With the theme 'Impact', this year the festival reflects on music and art in a social, political and ecological context and the programme includes composers represented in the Edition·S catalogue.

On 12 October, the percussion trio Pinquins performs Marcela Lucatelli's piece Theres a load to it. Choreographed through a game of hide-and-seek, the work deals artistically with the concepts of colonialism, immigration and cultural invisibility. The content of the work relates to the current corona virus crisis as it represents a fellow, invisible threat from “the other”

Hans Peter Stubbe Teglbjærg's art video Spherical Fountain can be experienced on 12 October. The work is based on field recordings made during several trips to Paris between 2009 and 2018 and video shots from the Tinguely Fountain at Place Igor Stravinsky (Paris),  the artificial La Cascade (Bois de Boulogne) and La Seine (seen from the eastmost point of Ile Saint-Louis). Inspired by the fact that the Ile-de-France region (Paris and neighbourhood) in geological prehistory was under water. 

Niels Lyhne Løkkegaard: Birdsongs performed at Bloom festival 2019

Niels Lyhne Løkkegaard's Birdsongs is performed on Saturday 15 October. 
Birdsongs is a feedback study for parabolic microphones. Usually the parabolic microphone is used by birdwatchers to listen in on birds and they calls. However in Løkkegaard's work, the parabolic microphone is used as a feedback system, generating artificial birdlike sounds. In the middle of the 6th mass extinction and the increasing absence of birds and hence the sound of birds  - Birdsongs is a modern take on the H.C. Andersen fairy tale about the artificial Nightingale.

Saturday 15 October also brings the world premiere of Bára Gísladóttir's Séríslenskt vögguljóð á hörpu (+ stúss fyrir Frank) - Icelandic lullaby for harp. 
The piece is composed for and premiered by Duo Harpverk, and its seemingly harmless title is contrasted by more dramatic titles of the miniature movements:

i. a murder in the mind palace :) 
interlude: æjæj litla skjálftakastið :( 
ii. ugly melancholy feast
iii. life goes on
iv. JK I’m sending the bees on you 
postlude: æjæjæj litla eftirsjáin 

Find information about all performances and events at Nordic Music Days 2022 here >>