Premiere of Stauning trio in Odense

Martin Stauning’s '3 Authoritarian Anthems' will be premiered by Trio Estera on 25 September.

 Martin Stauning. Photo: Caroline Bittencourt

'3 Authoritarian Anthems' is commissioned by Trio Estera, and is written for flute, cello and piano. The piece consists of 6 movements: Three Cantus Vulgaris (folk tunes) separated by two disrupted intermezzi and with a postlude in the end.

Every Cantus Vulgaris is authoritarian in its structure, metric and tone material – a material composed in a way that brings to mind folksongs of very different origins. At the same time the instruments play across the structure, maybe in an attempt to defy form and material. 

The two intermezzi are highly contrasting and just barely reminiscent of the preceding Cantus. By the end of the piece, the instruments are so divided in each their own world, that the piece breaks down, and finally comes together in a postlude amounting to a dying sigh.

The piece will be premiered at the debut concert of cellist Estera Kwiecien at the Danish National Academy of Music in Odense. As a special treat the piece can be heard at two public preview concerts prior to the premiere.

Performed by Trio Estera

Sunday, September 16 (Preview)
Hareskov Church, Værløse (DK)

Thursday, September 20 (Preview)
Gørlev Church, Gørlev (DK)

Tuesday, September 25, 19:30 (World Premiere)
ODEON, Odense (DK)