Tjørnhøj and Alsted receive the Carl Nielsen Prize 2017

The two Edition·S composers are among four recipients of one of the most prestigious Danish honorary awards.

Line Tjørnhøj. Photo: Anders Bigum

Since the Carl Nielsen and Anne Marie Carl-Nielsen Foundation began granting its honorary award to Danish composers and musicians, in 1959, the Carl Nielsen Prize has been awarded to some of the greatest composers of recent Danish music history – from Vagn Holmboe and Per Nørgård to Simon Steen-Andersen and Juliana Hodkinson.

This year the Carl Nielsen Prize will be awarded to Edition·S composers Line Tjørnhøj and Birgitte Alsted alongside flutist Ulla Miilmann and the Nightingale String Quartet. Each recipient also receives 750,000 Danish kroner.

The award ceremony takes place at a special concert in Copenhagen on 9 December 2017, where, among other pieces, Tjørnhøj’s new opera, ‘Agony’ – which is world premiered in one week in Aarhus – and Alsted’s ‘Nach Klänge hin ...’ will be part of the programme.

Tjørnhøj: A ‘recognition’ and ‘encouragement’
The foundation says: “Line Tjørnhøj often deals with themes that are unfamiliar in the contemporary music scene. She creates deeply expressive music for tense moral and social dilemmas, thereby giving a voice to tabooed people and subjects.

Her projects, spanning cultural and musical borders, have brought about international collaborations, which is reflected in the music itself. Line Tjørnhøj is awarded the honorary award as a recognition of her contribution to expanding the field of musical expression as well as being an encouragement for her to keep on composing.”

Alsted: ‘A unique voice’
About Birgitte Alsted, the foundation says: "Birgitte Alsted offers a unique voice in Danish music: both organic and surprising, dramatic and expressive, no matter if the sounds are created with a computer or acoustically.

Throughout her career, Alsted has, fearlessly, taken part in collective, interdisciplinary and improvisational collaborations; her efforts in combining these working practices have been pioneering. Birgitte Alsted is awarded the Carl Nielsen Prize as a well-deserved recognition of her ever-expanding ouevre and as an encouragement – also aimed at the public – to explore her musical universe.”

Birgitte Alsted. Photo: Frank Borchorst

About the Carl Nielsen Prize
Composer Carl Nielsen and sculptor Anne Marie Carl-Nielsen’s two daughters founded the Carl Nielsen and Anne Marie Carl-Nielsen’s Foundation in 1957 in memory of their parents.

The foundation owns 2/3 of the artist rights after Carl Nielsen and all rights after Anne Marie Carl-Nielsen. The capital of the foundation is primarily established on basis of the income from the artist rights.

The foundation gives out awards every other year to one or more Danish composers, conductors or musicians. The prizes are awarded as a special recognition of the already shown talent and as an encouragement and help to each artist’s future work.

Award ceremony and concert
9 December 2017, 15:00
Konservatoriets Koncertsal
Julius Thomsens Gade 1, Frederiksberg