Gustav Helsted


Gustav Carl Helsted was an organist and composer. He was pupil of Niels W.Gade and Joh. Chr. Gebauer. From 1892 he was teacher of theory at the Royal Academy of Music and organ teacher there from 1904. In 1915 he succeeded Otto Malling as the organist of Copenhagen Cathedral. He was the co-founder of Danish Concert Society (1901) and of the Society of Tonal Artists (1903). From 1907 he was member of the board of the Society for the Publication of Danish Music. His works include symphonies, concertos, chamber music, organ and piano pieces, choral works.

Available Works

  1. Decet

    1891 • Gustav Helsted

    7+ Instruments

    35 minutes

  2. Sonate for Orgel

    1924 • Gustav Helsted


    12 minutes

    Organ solo

  3. Strygekvartet i f mol

    1920 • Gustav Helsted

    2-6 Instruments

    String Quartet

  4. Violinkoncert

    1918 • Gustav Helsted

    2-6 Instruments

    23 minutes

    Violin and Piano

Advanced works search


  1. Premiere recordings of Gustav Helsted


    Premiere recordings of Gustav Helsted

Show More News