Album release · Steingrimur Rohloff

The new album 'Medea/Lysistrata' presents Steingrimur Rohloff's 'Five Songs by MEDEA' and a selection of songs from the opera 'Lysistrate'.

“Poetry’s sixth sense, the dramatic power of emotional extremes and the fantastical capabilities of melody and harmony lie behind Steingrímur Rohloff’s success as an opera composer. His music’s surface beauty and finesse conceal deep and frequently dark explorations of human life.”

This is how Andrew Mellor describes the music of Steingrímur Rohloff in the booklet for the new album Medea/Lysistrata.

The album is released by Dacapo Records and features Esbjerg Ensemble with mezzo-soprano Tuva Semmingsen performing Rohloff's 'Five Songs by MEDEA', a selection of songs from the opera 'Lysistrate' and a recomposed excerpt from Charpentier's 'Médée' from 1693.

The Danish poet Peter Laugesen has written the texts for both 'Five Songs by MEDEA' and 'Lysistrate', and Steingrímur Rohloff describes this collaboration: "Whether Laugesen is being beautiful or dirty or realistic, there is a punch in the language which draws me to my own extremities."

Find the album here >>