Sunday is the night of shadows and new piano quartets

Copenhagen · The Copenhagen Piano Quartet will perform new and recent works by Rune Glerup, Martin Stauning and Nicolai Worsaae at an intimate concert on Sunday night.

Photos: Caroline Bittencourt, Jakob Boserup, Niels Magnússon

3 Edition·S composers, one piano quartet.

The Copenhagen Piano Quartet (CPQ), a mix of Danish and Eastern European musicians, is one of the most promising young ensembles in Denmark. On Sunday night at the KLANG Festival they will present works for the traditional piano quartet setup by three young composers.

Three works by Rune Glerup are part of the programme: a new version of Quartettsatz (2012-13/17) arranged for piano quartet, the Sonata in Seven Movements (2011), which was dedicated to CPQ’s Neel Teilmann, and the aptly named Piano Quartet (2013).

The concert also features Nicolai Worsaae’s Epilogus I, “Organum” (2013), which makes use of quotes from early music composers such as Pérotin, as well as the world premiere of Martin Stauning’s Schattenkinder (2016), based on fragments from previous Stauning pieces. “But it’s not re-compositions or arrangements,” Stauning says. “It’s a matter of self-quotations and re-use of movements that have never been part of a ‘complete’ work before. Shadows of ideas, motives and phrases that I’ve worked on for a long time.”

The entire concert will be broadcast on Danish radio on Monday, 29 May, at 19.20.

Copenhagen Piano Quartet | Sunday, 28 May, 20.00
KoncertKirken, Blågårds Plads 6, CPH N
Tickets: 100/70 DKK