Svend Erik Tarp orchestral works - New album out now

Today Dacapo Records releases an album with recordings of Svend Erik Tarp's early works. The album features Aarhus Symphony Orchestra conducted by Tobias Ringborg, and soloists Lena Kildahl and Stanislav Pronin.

Svend Erik Tarp (1908-94) was one of the most prominent Danish composers of his time, boasting a large and versatile body of work. The album released today is the first volume of three in a collaboration between Dacapo Records and Aarhus Symphony Orchestra on releasing a selection of Svend Erik Tarp's orchestral works.

The series is cronological and on the first volume are a selection of Tarp's suites, overtures and two small concertos from the 1930s and early 1940s including 'Concertino for flute and orchestra' (1937) and 'Overture to a Comedy' (1940) published by Edition·S.

These early works show a development from the elegant and easily accessible towards a more clarified neoclassicist style, which later became one of Svend Erik Tarp’s hallmarks.

Read more about the release at Dacapo Records here.