Sonate i f-mol

Paul von Klenau
Piano solo
A4, 28 pages

The fact that the Sonata in F minor and the Sonatina in E major are handed down as dyeline prints, copyrighted in 1944, indicates that Klenau originally planned to have them published, but for unknown reasons this never happened. Both sonatas are based on the dodecaphonic technique, which in those days was highly controversial in Danish musical circles, but which the composer considered an important increase in and enrichment of the musical means of expression. According to Klenau, 12-note serial composition did not indicate a break away from the theory of harmony based on major/minor tonality, and it was important for him to show that it was possible to compose 12-note serial music worth listening to. This he also showed in three grand operas, performed on German stages in the 1930s.

The Sonata in F minor, which like the Sonatina in E major is an example of his so-called "12-note serial composition in a fixed key", is in four movements. Both works are included in the collection of music, manuscripts and personal material, which were bought by The Royal Library in 2005.

The two works are published by the Danish Centre for Music Publication of the Royal Library in cooperation with Edition·S – music¬sound¬art.


  • Score DKK100.00(€ ~13.50)
    (Prices incl. 25% EU VAT)

    The comment field can be used to add your own dealer reference, title ID, or catalogue number. This will be displayed as part of your order overview at checkout.

QR Code