Morten  Ladehoff
Photo: Kari Winther

Morten Ladehoff


Morten Ladehoff presents an entirely new look on the tradition. Inspired by conceptual art, he deconstructs instruments and the way we typically use them: a violin is separated and used to create new instruments; a soprano recorder is split into four pieces and subjected to live electronics; an amplified classical guitar is placed on a table in front of the musician.

By combining complex polymetric textures and intense repetitions he creates a musical universe, which incorporates mechanical expressions, deconstruction and autonomous processes. The resulting sounds and sonic structures are energetic, challenging and fluid.

Morten Ladehoff’s works have been commissioned and world premiered by Athelas Sinfonietta Copenhagen, Ensemble Ernst, Plus-Minus Ensemble, Snow Mask Ensemble and Jutlandia Saxophone Quartet. His music has been performed at festivals such as Klang, Nordic Music Days, Ultima and Young Nordic Music.

Morten Ladehoff was born in 1978 and is a trained organist. Taught by Karl Aage Rasmussen, Bent Sørensen, Rolf Wallin and Hans Abrahamsen, among others, he completed his composition studies in 2007 at the Royal Academy of Music in Aarhus, where he has been teaching music theory since 2008. In 2006 he won the Holmboe Composition Competition.

Available Works

  1. RoToR

    2019 • Morten Ladehoff

    2-6 Instruments

  2. Tableau Vivant

    2015 • Morten Ladehoff


  3. Structon Icon

    2014 • Morten Ladehoff

    2-6 Instruments

  4. Points d’Orgue

    2014 • Morten Ladehoff


  5. Introduktion und Motoren

    2017 • Morten Ladehoff

    2-6 Instruments

  6. Automateria

    2018 • Morten Ladehoff

    7+ Instruments

Advanced works search


  1. Significant work grants for Edition·S composers


    Significant work grants for Edition·S composers

  2. Digital Concert Series


    Digital Concert Series

  3. World Premiere · Morten Ladehoff · Apparatus Lacrimalis


    World Premiere · Morten Ladehoff · Apparatus Lacrimalis