Fuzzy (b. 1939)

Fuzzy (aka Jens Wilhelm Pedersen) studied composition with Per Nørgard, Vagn Holmboe, Finn Høffding, Jan Bark, György Ligeti and Karlheinz Stockhausen. He taught at the Royal Academy of Music in Århus during the seventies. In 1982 he decided to pursue a full time career as a composer, his production falling into four main categories: instrumental music, electroacoustic music, theater music and film music.

Fuzzy was a Danish pioneer in the area of electroacoustic music, working today mainly in his private studio in Copenhagen. He has also been active as a performer in the Swedish group New Culture Quartet. B-Movies for harp and electronics places the harp in roles alternating between spectator and main protagonist in a sound universe reminiscent of the cliché-ridden world of the wellknown B-movies. The composition falls into seven uninterrupted sections with the illustrative titles: Cemetery with Bats, Suspence, Sofia Meets the Giant Frog, Escape in the House of Mirrors, Point of No Return and Cartoon. The composition is dedicated to and commissioned by Sofia Asuncion Claro.